Foreign policies of the Arab states of the Persian Gulf

Diplomatic practices in the Foreign policies of Arab Gulf states

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.


The Arab states of the Persian Gulf are the seven Arab states, which border the Persian Gulf, namely Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). All of these nations except Iraq are part of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), and prefer to use the term "Arabian Gulf" rather than the historical name of the Persian Gulf. The politics of Arab nationalism have been as important a factor in Saudi foreign policy as have issues of regional security. The kingdom's relations with other Arab states in the Middle East and North Africa have been directly influenced by Arab nationalist concerns. Since the early 1950's, three persistent themes have dominated Arab nationalism: Arab unity, the unresolved grievances of the Palestinians, and the conflict with Israel. Although Saudi Arabia had its unique perspectives on these themes, it strove to remain within a broad inter-Arab consensus. At various times, however, Saudi views differed sharply from one or more of the powerful Arab states, and the kingdom consequently became enmeshed in the area's political tensions.


Kemal Yildirim


Prof. Dr. Kemal Yıldırım is an Orientalist; he has published various numbers of books and he has directed more than 20 Feature films and Documentaries as well as short films. He currently works on Ancient and Modern world cultures.

Number of Pages:


Book language:


Published On:




Publishing House:

LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing


International Relations, Public Diplomacy, Gulf states, diplomat, diplomatic practices, Persian Gulf, diplomacy

Product category:

POLITICAL SCIENCE / International Relations